Smellmycheese's Blog

Facebook fatigue

Posted on: February 15, 2012

I have definitely got it (Facebook fatigue, that is). Or at least fatigue at a certain kind of update.

I have found myself increasingly bored of seeing updates about what people are doing with their weekends, evenings, lunch times, bed times… I just can’t remember why I ever used to care. Did I care? I think I did, Or at least, it didn’t used to make me annoyed at a large percentage of the human race in quite the same way.

Don’t get me wrong, I used to be just as guilty as the next person of updating my Facebook with what I was eating, where I was going, where I had been and yada yada yawn. Then I realised that not only was I hugely disinterested in the minutiae of other people’s lives so why the hell would they be interested in mine, I realised that, actually, I actively do not want people to know where I’m going, what I’m doing and who I’m seeing, unless I choose to tell them personally for some reason.

It’s not just the ‘who cares’ factor either, it’s the cringe factor of people flaunting how fun! and busy! their lives are on a regular basis.

So I’ve for the most part stopped updates about my personal life. Oh and blocked people from checking me in without approval, so that other people can’t decide to share the insignificant details of my social life for me.

(Obviously if I’m going somewhere amazing and exciting or have a moment of weakness and feel like I must let people know I’m having fun! and I have friends! and I eat food! I might succumb and do an update, so don’t hold me to any of this.)

For now though, I’m getting such Facebook fatigue that I’m getting to the point of hiding updates from almost everyone, which would make being on Facebook slightly pointless.

Why don’t I leave? It’s entangled me in its web of millions of my photos that don’t exist anywhere else and a general feeling that I somehow need it to exist in the real world. It is becoming another platform for me to be annoyed at people on and I am just too scared to leave it, goddamit.

The good thing about Twitter is that people tend not to spew as much mundane personal dross as on Facebook. They tend to share funny or interesting observations, articles, pictures or thoughts and not tell the world how they’re in a bar on a Friday (amazing news!) is or how they’re having an early night (stop the press!). Or, at least, not the people I follow. But then, I don’t tend to follow people I know in real life on Twitter.

So there are a few possible conclusions here: everyone I know in real life bores me/Twitter is better than Facebook/I am just becoming grumpier than ever.

Probably the last one. Right, I’m off to have a bath and eat some pickled onions.

6 Responses to "Facebook fatigue"

Agreed. I am an offender. I can’t stop. It’s an addiction.

I haven’t been on Facebook (for more than a few minutes, ‘offline’ every 6 months or so) since before Christmas 2010. Was sick of seeing how great everyone else’s life was compared to mine, the gloating bastards. Once you get a few weeks clean, it’s just easier to not log in. Now I’m addicted to Tumblr, anyway.

Oh yeah, that’s a whole other blog post; the feelings of inadequacy it can give you. The wasted time you can spend looking at other people’s photos and wondering why everyone else’s lives look so much better than yours. Of course, it’s mostly just smoke and mirrors and mostly everybody’s thinking the same about everybody else. Apart from the ones who don’t post updates about how much fun they’re having every two minutes of course; they’re too busy actually having fun.

I agree too. For me its like a monotonous relationship where I do the same things and have the same expectations, I mean we have been together since about 2003 so perhaps I’ve got the 7 year itch in social media. Don’t get me wrong, some days things get all spiced up and we do something we’ve never done before, but most of the time I follow the same routine, fondle the news feed for a minute, go to my regular spots of satisfaction – Mates for interesting things, school friends/chavs for amusing posts filled with “carn’ts” and “our ellie-mai just got first earring, well proud”.

When new social networks come out its like going to a new bar and speaking to people that you already know but in a different environment, almost like the start of a naughty affair, I’ll speak to people using different posting tools like pinterest “look at how cool I am”, path is quite voyeuristic in that I know when I’ve been watched, so I clean up my act and get my best “clothes on” (that’s nice pics, witty educated banter and some insightful posts that give off some kind of class). Twitter is like a good friend that sometimes I forget about for a few days but when I go see him I’m never disappointed.

The be all and end all is that facebook is my first love and I just can’t let go. It might be that in a few years it gets another facelift to make sure I don’t go for a younger model but we have so much history I can’t see my future without it in my life. Am I going to start another social media relationship and leave all my facebook memories behind? perhaps I need to go to social media relationship counselling to be reminded about why me and facebook should be together.

Good analogy. But I much prefer Twitter. It’s good to have to present yourself more professionally. Facebook just seems to have turned into a rant forum.

Come off Facebook – just do it! I left in December, and I had a pretty serious Faceaddiction. But I don’t miss it at all.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

