Smellmycheese's Blog

Leeds Domestic Cleaning: a cautionary tale part II

Posted on: May 1, 2012

Ah what fun I have had with Simon M Macbeth of Leeds Domestic Cleaning over the past few days. For all those not familiar, please read my initial Leeds Domestic Cleaning blog post to get up to speed on the astoundingly shoddy service I have had at the hands of Simon M Macbeth and his operation, Leeds Domestic Cleaning (trading as Design Market).

In short, I paid for a cleaning service, no one turned up and then Simon M Macbeth dealt with the situation by fobbing me off with offers to send me photos of my front door (to ‘prove’ someone called and which of course never transpired), only offered to make a second appointment as a ‘goodwill gesture’ when I called him after his emails offered no solution, pretended to be someone else (I believe), before cancelling my second appointment and refusing any further contact, never mind a refund.

I would really appreciate it if you could help me out by sharing links to this blog post (and/or my first post) on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and anywhere else you can think of, as I have effectively had money stolen off me (and you doing this will help my posts’ search rankings so hopefully other people can be warned). If you can also write on Leeds Domestic Cleaning’s Facebook page saying that you have heard negative reports and therefore will not be using them, that would be brilliant. They will just delete negative comments written on their wall (they’ve done this with me and others) so the best bet is to write it as a ‘recommendation’ on their page; they seem unable to delete these.

Read on for the second lot of email correspondence between myself and Simon M Macbeth, plus ‘Mark Wang’, who, coincidentally, makes exactly the same grammatical errors as Simon and writes in an all too familiar manner. Funny that…!

Subject: RE: KGB Oven

Date: Fri, 27 Apr 2012 10:19:58 +0100
Hi Leah,

I have checked and thus can confirm that you are already booked in on the 12th May 2012 at 13:30.

Many Thanks

Mark Wang
Clients Manager
Leeds Domestic Cleaning

Always a sure-fire sign someone can’t string a coherent sentence together if they resort to unnecessary use of ‘thus’ and ‘hence’, if you ask me.

Subject: RE: KGB Oven

Date: Fri, 27 Apr 2012 09:32:06 +0000

Thank you. I am still waiting on a photograph of my front door as offered on Monday (see previous emails). Can you tell me where this is please?

Thanks,
Leah.

Subject: RE: KGB Oven
Date: Fri, 27 Apr 2012 10:56:47 +0100
Hi Leah,

I will speak with Simon regarding the photos that Pauline had taken from outside your house. Having spoken to Paulina she kindly informed me that she deleted them after you advised Simon that you would not beleive they was taken on the day of your clean. I guess you thought that we would drive to yours the following day and take the photos then?
Many Thanks
Mark Wang
Clients Manager
Leeds Domestic Cleaning

Note the use of ‘was’ instead of ‘were’. Exactly the same mistake Simon made in his email offering to send me a photograph of my front door to ‘prove we was there’.

Subject: RE: KGB Oven
Date: Fri, 27 Apr 2012 10:13:26 +0000
Hi Mark,

If you look at the emails below (which you will also have in your own emails) you will see that this is not the case. I asked to be sent the photos anyway to ensure that the cleaner would go to the correct address this time.

I quote: “please send me the photo anyway so I can ensure the cleaner goes to the correct address next time. Thank you.”

This was sent on Monday. Paulina was not due in the office until Tuesday according to Simon. So when would she have been given the incorrect impression that she should delete this mystical photograph…?

I have tried to call several times over the past two days and keep getting put through to answer phone. Can you please call me on XXX? It would be nice to speak to a different representative of the company to get their take on my experiences. I wasn’t aware there was another Client Manager as I have only ever spoken to Simon. Or failing that, if you could just answer the phone I would appreciate it.

Thank you.

Subject: RE: KGB Oven
Date: Sat, 28 Apr 2012 22:21:56 +0100

just wanted to confirm that your booked for 12 May 2012 is cancelled
Many Thanks
Simon M. Macbeth
Clients Manager
Leeds Domestic Cleaning

I left another voice mail at this point asking if Simon could have the decency (and guts) to call me back at least once and explain this to me. He of course didn’t. He sent an email (as usual) instead.

Hello Leah,

I’m not happy with the defamation posted over the internet about myself and LDC. Due to this we are no longer willing to work with you.

Since we did previously attend your property and you failed to let in our cleaner we are under no further obligation to you.

Please stop with your continuing phone calls and emails as this is our final respo

Many Thanks

Simon M. Macbeth
Clients Manager
Leeds Domestic Cleaning

Subject: RE: KGB Oven
Date: Sun, 29 Apr 2012 20:33:45 +0000

Hello Simon,

It’s interesting that you are not happy with the ‘defamation’ posted on the internet about your company (all of which is nothing but the facts). I am not happy with the abysmal treatment I have had at the hands of you and your shoddy operation. You have taken money from me and not provided a service, so you are certainly under an obligation to refund me or provide the service and I will not be ceasing the phone calls, emails or internet activity until you do this.

You keep insisting that someone turned up on the date of my appointment. As I have told you several times, no one buzzed my intercom that morning.

You offer to send me a photo to ‘prove’ you were there. I take you up on this laughable offer, the photo never transpires, and then a ‘Mark Wang’ mysteriously appears who makes exactly the same grammatical errors as you and believes Paulina has deleted this (obviously mythical) photo.

I’ll be honest with you Simon, I don’t believe there is a Mark Wang. I believe that was simply you emailing me.

I don’t believe that Paulina took a photograph of my front door on Saturday. I don’t believe Paulina came to the correct address and I know she did not ring my intercom. I can prove I was in all day and you have yet to prove anyone called at my address.

I do believe you chose to ignore my phone calls and I know you have blocked me from your Facebook page. I also know you could have phoned me at any point to try and sort this sorry mess out, rather than fob me off with mythical photographs and promises of emails and (it would seem) mythical members of staff.

It’s interesting that I’m not the only person who has experienced this complete lack of customer service from you, as demonstrated by a Ripoff Report I read online.

I am a social media manager and have now written reviews for your company on Google, Google Plus, Ripoff Report and my own blog. I have filled my posts with mentions of your company’s name and asked as many people as I can to share links to my blog post to ensure that it appears in search when people Google your company name. I have asked people to spread the word on Twitter and Facebook and I will continue this until as many people know about your shoddy operation and complete lack of customer service as possible. Or until you refund me or provide the service as paid for.

This could all have been avoided if you had any grasp of how to treat customers in a courteous manner and had simply offered me another appointment in the first place, without me having to call and chase you. Simply replying to me by email telling me unequivocally that your cleaner had turned up and offering no solution or apology is not acceptable and the way you have dealt with the situation since then has gone from bad to appalling.

As well as the continued contact and internet activity I will be looking into how trading standards and the CAB can help me and whether I can take this to small claims court if necessary. If you decide to do the right thing and refund me, you have my number.

Thank you

Leah
I am not in control of what you do however this will be the final time I reply to you.
Many Thanks
Simon M. Macbeth
Clients Manager
Leeds Domestic Cleaning

update: the same Simon M Macbeth runs several companies, including Outdoor Fitness Leeds and it would appear that he has been reported for scamming before. It looks like he could also operate under the names Simon Naylor and Simon Greenwood and has a reputation on the internet for various scams, if it is the same person. 


47 Responses to "Leeds Domestic Cleaning: a cautionary tale part II"

I have no knowledge re this specific business but just to warn about Simon Macbeth. I sold my company to him and he tried to get away without paying for it ! He claimed I was still director although both directors had resigned and he was sole director ! Check out all the other complaints about him easily available on the web. Unfortunately, the business world is littered with loads of people like him.

Well help me spread the word about him! Blog, tweet, Facebook, Google+. Do whatever you can to be a massive pain in his arse. He also owns Film by You, Magic Wand Marketing and Real Homes Limited according to his Linkedin profile.
I’ll be writing another blog post soon detailing what I’ve found out.
Don’t let him get away with it. Make some noise!

I am posting on any site I can find.

How did you come across my post, out of interest?

Googled “simon macbeth roundhay complaints”

hi we have recently been scammed by simon Macbeth after we purchased cleaning equipment and a new web-design (most of this we still have not received) this guy has posted on his website that we own his company and has left our personal details on his leeds domestic cleaning web-site for his customers to contact us for the money and services owed by him. Therefore we have received numerous emails, telephone calls and emails. We wish we had read your blogs before our devastating encounter with Simon Macbeth/ Simon Naylor.of Relax telecom, LDC, Real Homes, Leeds Out door fitness, Bradford Out door Fitness and Design Marketing @ Engine House.
Please this support this campaign to stop further explotation and scamming by Simon Macbeth

Hi!
If you have taken over the company I would love to book one of the cleaners who I used from LDC, please give me your contact details!

came across this post by also just googling his name, he used to be my landlord when i briefly lived in that area, he rents out the rooms in his house. He is a complete rip off merchant when i left he refused to give me my bond back by inventing damages i had apparently made and challenging me to take it to a small claims court. i did contact the police who were pretty upfront and honest with me and basically said that it if i lost it would end costing me more and also would of been a lot of time and effort because i didnt have any proof he was lying i just decided not to pursue it for the sake of £400. He also lives in the house and in all the time i was there (4 months) he never had a job, just sat on the computer all day/night. i have now come to realise he just makes money from ripping people off. He’s a vile creature!!!

I completely agree and unluckily had the same experience renting one of the rooms but also lost rent from him evicting me! I fear this has happened to alot of people but something needs to be done to stop it happening to more people! His job is to scam people all he does.

Pretty much same story here, apart from an added three police visits in a month, some due to his violent behavior to his 19 year old girlfriend. Nothing good to say about the vermin, scum of the earth.

Yes. I’m afraid Mr. Macbeth is not very bright. I have advised him he will have serious problems regarding our transaction and tried to give him a little leeway to avoid legal action against him. Although he accused me of fraud and I put him right in that regard, he actually threatened me! People get what they deserve eventually!

Looks like I’ve been ‘had’ by Leeds Domestic Cleaners this week as well. Really wish I’d Googled them and Simon Macbeth before I was enticed by the KGBdeals offer. I paid for a 3 hour clean voucher plus after booking I paid extra for an oven clean and other things to a total of £39. Well, they were booked in yesterday & they didn’t turn up so I’ve emailed and rung since but there’s no reply. Funny how when booking they responded to the email straight away. I feel really annoyed and upset & their website looks so professional that I didn’t think twice before booking.

I know it’s not a lot of money but it’s the hassle of it all. Think I’ll have to get in touch with KGBdeals and Trading Standards now. Any other advice would be gratefully received!

Thanks for bringing all this to my attention and like I said, really wish I’d come across this blog before I bought the voucher!

I had him investigated. Not worth taking action. Very little money or assets. Just one of life’s losers trying to scrape a few bucks from whatever he can. Best just to publicise his behaviour and hope people keep away from him. Can’t even spell the simplest of words and his grammar is non-existent. A total balloon!

Leeds Domestic Cleaning now has new owners according to the website. So he’s cut and run leaving me (and probably many others) out of pocket. I wonder if the new owners either exist or know what they are getting themselves into. He’s quite happy to publicise their details so they’re either in for an avalanche of post demanding refunds, or the house is a boarded up squat. Either way he’s wriggled off the hook once again.

The full website statement (including his bargain offer of £2000 for the website domain) is:

On the 2nd July 2012 SalesForce Ltd and Design Market Limited (the owners of Leeds Domestic Cleaning) sold Leeds Domestic Cleaning to Natalie & Jonathan Turner of 5 Whincover Drive Leeds LS12 5JL

The new owners have decided to stop trading under the name of Leeds Domestic Cleaning

If you have paid any money to Leeds Domestic Cleaning for a service you have not received please read below:

If you have made a payment to Leeds Domestic Cleaning on or AFTER the 3rd July please email Design Market Limited for a refund – wow@design-market.co.uk stating your name, postcode and amount paid along with your bank details (sort code and account number) for your refund to be processed. It is important that you type your postcode within the subject header. Emails will not be read unless there is a postcode within the subject header.

If you have made a payment to Leeds Domestic Cleaning on or BEFORE the 2nd July you will need to contact the new owners of Leeds Domestic cleaning – Natalie & Jonathan Turner of 5 Whincover Drive Leeds LS12 5JL

Update: On the 8th July 2012 the new owners of Leeds Domestic Cleaning handed ownership of the domain http://www.leedsdomesticcleaning.co.uk back to SalesForce Ltd. Please note that SalesForce Ltd once again own the domain ONLY and no other aspect of Leeds Domestic Cleaning

DOMAIN FOR SALE

This domain is now for sale, interested parties should email wow@design-market.co.uk with any offers in excess of £2,000

Hi JF
I have just read your last blog, We would like to thank you and all the other people that are trying to help our campaign in ridding the internet etc of simon macbeth the vile excuse for a man. We hope everyone else now understands that we are telling the truth about not owning his business LDC and that no-one else false victim to his scams again.

Everyone. Thank you so much for you comments and contributions and apologies for the late response. This is looking to me more and more like we could have a case for rouge traders/Watchdog or similar. I don’t believe for one second that LDC has new owners, I believe this is yet another scam.
Bear with me and I will be in touch soon.

hi
we have recently been scammed by simon Macbeth after we purchased cleaning equipment and a new web-design (most of this we still have not received) this guy has posted on his website that we own his company and has left our personal details on his leeds domestic cleaning web-site for his customers to contact us for the money and services owed by him. Therefore we have received numerous emails, telephone calls and emails. We wish we had read your blogs before our devastating encounter with Simon Macbeth/ Simon Naylor.of Relax telecom, LDC, Real Homes, Leeds Out door fitness, Bradford Out door Fitness and Design Marketing @ Engine House.
Please support this campaign to stop further explotation and scamming by Simon Macbeth.

I will certainly help support your campaign in any way I can. What do you want me to do to help? When I have time I’ll be writing another blog post and I also think it’s worth looking into Rogue Traders/Watchdog. Surely there are now enough terrible stories for us to expose this man?!

Hi there
I would just like to point out that Relax Telecom is not owned in any way by Simon Macbeth or Simon Naylor.

If you have been informed otherwise by Simon Macbeth or an alias, we would be very grateful if you could provide us some further details with regards to this.

Many thanks
Relax Telecom

So now we have full details of the ‘owners’ of the new business, including email and phone numbers, on the old Leeds Domestic Cleaning Website. And how did they buy the business? On Ebay.

The Ebay listing certainly makes interesting reading.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/261053479906?ssPageName=STRK:MESOX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1587.l2649

There’s phone number for Simon Macbeath on there 07545 84 65 87. I haven’t tried it yet but no doubt it’s either disconnected or takes you to a premium rate line. If anybody is willing to try it can you report back on here?

As for the new owners who posted on here. Can you give us any more information about what happened?

Have given the number a go and am 95% sure it’s him. Sounds like him anyway.

More comment from me I’m afraid, but here’s another laughable scam run by our friend. If you go to his Ebay profile and see what else he is selling, surprise surprise there is a startup cleaning business. Click on the listing and he says you can take a look at some of his other sites including http://www.ManchesterDomesticCleaning.co.uk & http://www.YorkDomesticCleaning.co.uk. All look very similar to the departed Leeds Domestic Cleaning site, but have a look at the feedback on both sites. On the York site, Hayley from York says “Excellent, the cleaner was early and her standard of work was very good. My overall experience with your service was very good.” Have a look at the Manchester site and Hayley now lives in Manchester but manages to say exactly the same thing. Scroll down and you’ll see most of the feedback is identical but switched to the city in question. Watch out Manchester and York, you’ll be next.

Hi JF
I have just read your last blog, We would like to thank you and all the other people that are trying to help our campaign in ridding the internet etc of simon macbeth the vile excuse for a man. We hope everyone else now understands that we are telling the truth about not owning his business LDC and that no-one else false victim to his scams again.

sorry if you have received this twice

I booked a cheap oven clean over the LivingSocial site from Leeds Domestic Cleaning who never turned up. I rang, left messages, left email. Nothing. Luckily, LivingSocial have offered to refund me (hopefully that will come through) but poor Natalie and Jonathon Turner are being swamped with people wanting their money back cos I wrote to them as well as LivingSocial. They’re being really good and trying to keep people informed though.
Don’t touch Simon Macbeth or any company or anything associated with him if you can. Good luck everyone!

Hi Anska. I have reported Simon Macbeth to BBC Watchdog/Rogue Traders. If you wish to do the same, here’s the link: http://www.bbc.co.uk/watchdog/gotastory/ You are welcome to reference my experiences also.

I’ve done a bit more digging and oh what a surprise his Manchester and York cleaning businesses are also for sale on Ebay. And just to try and throw a few more people off the scent he changed his Ebay ID on 2nd July which is the same day he sold Leeds Domestic Cleaning.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/York-Cleaning-Business-/261055909105?pt=UK_B_I_Business_for_Sale_CV&hash=item3cc8250cf1

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Manchester-Cleaning-Business-/261047318511?pt=UK_B_I_Business_for_Sale_CV&hash=item3cc7a1f7ef

Also, if you want to see the miraculous coincidences of his cleaning feedback you can also still view the Leeds Domestic Cleaning feedback. It seems there is a now a Hayley living in Manchester, Leeds and York who manages to say exactly the same thing about her great service.
http://leedsdomesticcleaning.co.uk/feedback.html

You can report his ebay listings as fraudulent, in order to have ebay investigate him and take the listings down – on the right side of the listings page, you will see in blue lettering, “Print” and “Report”. If you click on “Report,” you will get a series of menus and can select ‘fraudulent activity’ (a link to this site would probably be all they need to see to take his listings down!).

Simon Macbeth
Fitness Factory (UK) Ltd
EU-Logystics Limited
Sale Force Limited
Good to go Limited
Design Market Limited
Film-by-you
Probably more.

Please note he states “Salesforce Ltd” was selling the business.
He is no part of that company!
He means “Sale Force Limited” and even has not changed registered office to correct one!

Most of the time, it is simple to spot anything in which Macbeth is involved. His grammar is shocking and spelling extremely bad.

As mentioned before, Macbeth is one of life’s losers and you won’t get much compensation. Not worth the effort. Just a balloon!

Hi everyone,
just a quick update before on campaign to inform everyone of Simon Macbeth. We have been to see an independent legal advisor who has informed us that if we have not signed any contracts and from the evidence he has witnessed:- our emails with simon that he has committed fraud. He advises that legally he has misled people and we are not the owners of the company and it is possible that we would get our money back from a small claims court. However would he turn up if he is ignoring everyones attemps to contact him. I am contacting the police for a crime reference number even though he advised trading standards etc is the best root as well as everthing else we have been doing.
In addition if people want to google:- ‘directors check’ which is a free web-page listing many other companies he owns, or has owned unfortunately it only list’s Ltd ones. To get this information type in his name in the search box.

We would like to thank everyone for being so supportive to Jonathan and Myself.

While all of this is happening, wouldn’t it be worth giving him negative feedback on Ebay? I see he’s got an offer for each of the York and Manchester cleaning businesses, and there could potentially be two more people duped by him. At least if they read some warning feedback they may think twice and also deny him some more easy cash.

Good idea JF. I don’t use eBay but I will attempt to leave some feedback pointing to this blog post. If others want to leave negative feedback also I think it’s a great idea.

Thanks, we would but we did not pay through ebay and only won the bid which is more evidence we do not own the LDC. As we were dubious and wanted to discuss first, we informed him we wanted to purchase the equipment and a web-design so we could eventually start our own company .It appears that he did not like the idea of this, and now we understand why he tries to make sales through ebay hoping people will feel idiotic about being scammed through internet and forget about it. Thus allowing him to pass debts on to the purchaser of his so called business LDC. Another thing it appears rather coincidental that there is only one person bidding on these other items, in my opinion its possibly another plot to trap people into rushing and bidding. Unfortunately the damage is done he has tarnished our names and personal details with this as he knew we wanted to purchase the equipment and a web-design so we could eventually start our own business an aspiration well and truly destroyed.

We are taking other steps as suggested by the solicitor but at this present moment I do not think it is a good idea to publically divulge at this present moment.

A message to people like simon : money made through dishonesty will not last too long and you may appear to get on in the world by lying however just because your lies have travelled fast my truth has endurance.

Thanks for the update Natalie. I really hope you can reach some kind of resolution. I have reported Simon Macbeth to BBC Watchdog/Rogue Traders. If you want to do the same, here’s the link: http://www.bbc.co.uk/watchdog/gotastory/ You are welcome to reference my experiences as well.

Just to let you all know I have filled out a form for BBC Watchdog/Rogue Traders about Simon Macbeth. Whether they will get back to me or not I don’t know but if anyone else wishes to inform them of their own experiences with Simon, that would be great. You’re welcome to reference this blog. Here’s the link: http://www.bbc.co.uk/watchdog/gotastory/

Thanks I will inform anyone who contacts me

Although Macbeth does not have much brain power, he withdrew payment from PayPal knowing PayPal only investigates if one can provide proof of posting! (Obviously, in cases of sale by internet, one cannot provide such.) I did get PayPal to force him to pay, only after persistence and demonstrating he does this sort of thing.
Reported to Police, Action Fraud, Watchdog and a few similar agencies.
As mentioned earlier, I do not believe anyone will achieve recompense but we should be able to get him imprisoned at some point.

Looks like Simon has closed down the LDC Facebook page… unless it’s just that I can’t see it?

OMG, I designed Leeds Domestic Cleaning, and sold it to Simon for £200 on eBay around January time, I tried to cancel the transaction, after a discussion with the wife, it was decided we would run the company, as a family business, but when i refused to sell the domain name and site to Simon, he was rude, and said he would take legal action against me, unless i released the website to him… and left me negative feedback :-(, Since then he’s changed the website content alot, and lost alot of the page 1 rankings i managed to build up, that’s why i think he went down the voucher route, I’m sorry for all those who have fallen for his tricks, and i think he needs to be closen down for good… Since my runnings in with Simon i have rebuilt a new website, but we are not trading yet, but we get alot of his customers contacting us for services / complaints because our domain name is similar to his.

Jonathan – Should you require any website support please post on here with an email contact address, I might be able to help you out with some free website design work…

Simon did pay the £200 for the website from me, but i hope you all get together and stop him ripping people off…

Thanks for commenting LDCS! Hopefully we can at the very least warn more people about him.

Thank you for your kind offer LDCS to contact F.A.O-Jonathan, via email- nataliemckenzie09@live.co.uk
at the moment with everything we are not ready to set up for trade but would greatly appreciate your website design support.
.

Jonathan email sent, so how can we close Simon down, do you need me to contact any body?

I agree, people must inform trading standards the rogue traders, watchdog and everyone they know regarding their experience with these businesses and their owner.

Also reported to eBay.

Police.

After I originally left a comment I appear to
have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added-
checkbox and now every time a comment is added I recieve
four emails with the exact same comment. Is there a way you are able to remove me from that
service? Appreciate it!streetdirectory *Sven*

I don’t think that’s something I can do at my end, sorry!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

